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Q&A

FB post
Q :Hello, I am building my first list and have a question regarding one of the Exile Band's 
Follower choices. The Spotter reads, "Sensor: At the end of the unit's Turn, a Readied Ally in Line 
of Sight can make a Free Shoot at an Enemy the Sensor equipped can see."
My question is, does the shooter himself require line of sight to the target as usual? Or can I 
effectively "shoot around corners" and the like with this ability as long as the Sensor equipped 
model can see the target?
R: The usual restrictions on the shoot action remain so you still need line of sight from shooter to 
target. There’s just added restrictions that the target and shooter also need to be visible to the guy 
with the sensor.

FPB post
Q: Yo ! With the campaign when I get renown points I can spend them on the rewards gear to give 
to any of my warband members , do they have to swap what they have for the new peace of gear . 
And I guess I can use the renown to buy a new warband member , and from what Iv read I can have  
upto 8 members in my gang on the table , so can I have warband memebers in reserve if I have over  
8 In total ? Sorry for all the questions , me and the daughter started a solo campaign lastnight as 
we have just been doing against random horrors to learn the game . Absolutely love the 
gameplay !! Thanks guys
R: Alway maximum 8 members. After each game you “erase” and “buy” new members, even if you 
want to keep one of them you are simply “buying” it for new.
The unique situations where you are obliged to keep an existing model (and always paying its cost) 
is when it dies and you roll 3-4-5 on the injury table for out of action models

FB post
Q : I have a rules question, since it doesn't seem very clearly stated in the rule book - so how 
exactly do Nexuses work with the Horror? Does it not take any damage until the Nexuses are dealt 
with? Or can it be downed but it just always gets back up?
R: Horrors can be downed normally, but any condition that would kill it will be simply ignored (the 
horror remains in game). You must destroy nexuses in order to definitely kill the horror.

FB post
Q : A quick question for the group. How do you handle shooting attacks in melee? It seems to me 
there are two options - simply not allow them or have the shooter count as an ally when shooting in 
melee so they hit themselves on a roll of 1.
I might be missing an obvious rule interpretation here - such as an attack in base to base is always 
melee and one at range is always ranged… But I just don’t see wording in the rules that indicate 
this definitively.
Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
R : That’s explained on page 15 in the Shoot section:
-a model cannot shoot if touching an enemy.
-shooting an enemy that touching a your ally is risky: if you roll a 1, you hit your friendly model

FB post
Q  : Hi, I have just got through the book, very amazing. I am starting to play by using the Horror 1-
1 scenario, tomorrow. I have noticed that there're no rules for disengaging from close combat. 



Following the rules, minis can just move away. I have also noticed that there are no rules for 
reaction towards a charge or receiving a shot. Thus, minis are quite passive against enemy actions. 
Did people included any homerules to include disengage from melee and to allow reactions? Do 
you think that adding such type of rules can help with increasing the dramatisation of the play? 
Thank to all those that will answer my questions.
R : There is not specific disengaging rule, but you have to make a Q roll if you are touching an 
enemy. Failing that, the enemy will move your model on any point of the path you declared.
About the passive aspect during an enemy turn, there is indeed a lot of funny interaction when you 
resolve the Shock Table when your models receive damage.
Have fun and enjoy your incoming apocalypse!

FB Post
Q : Another question: if you play solo does the turret attack you in the Breakthrough scenario? And  
if so what is it’s QL?
R : In another post the author stated that turrets attack you at QL4+

FB Post
Q : Is the Exile Bands' elite overpriced at 5 points? It's ql4+ (2pts), nimble (1p), and has a shield 
(1pt). Shouldn't it be 4 points?
R : Yes, that's an error, Elite should cost 4pts - confirmed by Chris on Doomed Discord.

FB Post
Q : 1) can you shoot into ongoing melee between the horror and an ally? 
2) what does d6 damage mean for when you fall off a ledge? 
3) do the minions active first or the horror when activating? 
R : 1) yes, but if you roll a 1 you will hit your allied model and must roll to damage it.
2) roll a d6: that’s how many QL roll you have to do to avoid the damage. 
E.g.: roll a 3= 3 save rolls to pass, or get damage.
3) you choose, unless specified by any minion/horror special rule

FB post
Q : Downed- Horrors - We have been playing on the basis that if a Horror is downed, it won't react 
with Free actions in response to nexus destruction or from the response table. The Devourer, for 
instance, specifies "makes a Free recovery, then a free Move, attack etc" and in the response table 
accounts for it being unable to carry out actions ("makes a Free move if not able to do this treat 
result as 2"). The Rot Herald doesn't have any of those caveats, so presumably if it is down when it 
rolls "make a Free attack", it can't and there's no effect?
R : The second point is correct, as Chris specified in an older post. If the horror is downed, it won’t 
react unless it has any special rule allowing a Free Recovery or Free Action (which it would be a 
Recovery in this situation)

Discord post
Q : For the Doomed: Imagine a character with Sensor (like the Spotters from Exile Bands) sees an 
Ally and an Enemy, but line of sight between the Ally and the Enemy is blocked. 
Would the Sensor ability work in that situation? I.e. can it make a character shoot something it 
otherwise could not should from that position
My gut reaction is to say that it depends on what is blocking line of sight.
R : In general you still need line of sight between the attacker and the target



FB post
Q: In the Actions section (page 11) it states a unit uses their quality (ql) for most actions.... 
attempting to equal or beat their ql score 
However, in both the Fight and Shoot sections it states: each successful hit (i.e. over the unit's ql 
value) causes damage.....
So is it the case that for both the Fight and Shoot actions you actually have to beat your ql value, 
not just equal or beat it?
Just trying to clear this up
R : It's equal or above. So QL5+ needs a 5 or 6 to succeed.

FB post
Q : I have the Kindle edition so until my physical book arrives I can't compare it but I have a 
question:
In the example warband for The Martyrs one of them is equipped with a blaster, yet it isn't listed on 
there equipment list? Just wondering if this was a typo or it's been left off the kindle edition by 
mistake in the equipment list?
R : The example Warband shouldn't have it

FB post
Q : Quick rules question: can i buy more than one of the same follower, for example 2 Paragons for  
the Inheritor Courts?
R : Yeah there are no limits on taking multiple of the same follower type.

FB post
Q : Question: The 'impact' reward causes one damage when you make contact with an enemy. Is 
this tested for immediately? and therefore if they fail their save you could then attack with melee 
and put them out of action pretty quickly.
R : That would be my interpretation of the rule Rob. I see it as a sort of pre-emptive attack that, as 
you say if it's successful, could see the enemy taken out a lot easier .

FB post
Q : Silly question, but do Minions, or Horrors ever become exhausted for rules purposes 
considering they potentially get as many 3-action-activations as there are player's models?
They get exhausted at the end of their turn like other units.
R : No, when a unit is Exhausted they don't get another turn until next Round, though they can still 
get Free Actions from things like Shock Table results.

FB post
Q :  Matyr Retinues
Rewards
Aim : Your next shoot this turn counts as QL2+ [1pt]
Actions - Shoot (Once Per Turn)
The above two rules are contradictory?
R : Yeah looks like this is an error unfortunately. Aim should use the ruling "spend 3 actions to 
shoot at QL2+"

Discord post
Q : Also, say a shock table result gives a unit a “free attack” but they already shot a ranged 
weapon that round. Do they ignore the normal shoot once limit and fire again?
R : Yeah Free Actions don't count toward the normal limit

Discord post



Q : Rules question about Kinetic Drivers (p33): "M1x1 – Force: On a hit, Move the target directly 
towards or away from the Shooting unit". Is "shooting unit" a typo and the rule refers to the user of 
the kinetic driver, or is the kinetic driver actually meant to be R1x1 ?
R : The text should read "toward or away from the Attacking unit"

Discord post
Q :  if a unit gets hit like 3 times and fails 2 of the wound saves, do you roll on the shock table, fully  
resolve it, and then roll on the shock table again?
R : No, if you fail ANY number of saves then you only ever roll Shock once.

Discord post
Q : We had the Horror and several minions on the table, all in various positions.  Some in combat, 
some with line of sight to warband units.  During an unbound activation, how do you determine 
which unit takes priority and activates?
R : The current player chooses a readied unbound unit the activate after their turn

Discord post
Q: Can someone confirm this : After you play one of your minis, you activate one of the Unbound, 
and play 3 activations. If an Unbound starts their turn stunned, their first activation is to recover. It 
they fail, they can't do anything else since you can only do it once per turn.  Correct ?
R : Correct

Discord post
Q : if you have 3 units in your warband and there are 5 unbound units on the board, only 5 
unbound units will play during a turn, right ? 
R : so at the end of a round all units (both warband members and unbound units) will have activated 
once, meaning they're all exhausted.
So if we've got Player A (1 unit left) and Player B (2 unit left) and 6 Unbound Units
We'd go:

• Player A activates a readied warband member and exhausts them
• Player A activates a readied unbound and exhausts them
• Player B activates  readied warband member and exhausts them
• Player B activates a readied unbound and exhausts them
• Player A now has no readied members of their warband left, but activates an unbound unit as 

normal
• Player B activates their last readied warband member and exhausts them
• Player B activates an unbound unit
• Now there are only unbound units left readied, so on their remaining turns each player 

activates a readied unbound unit until they're all exhausted

Discord post
Q : Rule question for The Doomed, about the "Manipulate" skill : 
Manipulate: At the end of its turn, Move an Enemy unit it can see but in such a way that they do not  
directly come to harm.
We understand that it means "not in contact of another figure" and also "out of sight of any enemy 
of this unit". Are we right ?
R : The direct harm thing means you just can't walk them off a cliff or similar. You can absolutely 
put them in line of fire of the enemy or in contact.



Discord post
Q :Hello all, I am looking forward to playing my first game of Doomed soon. I have a quick 
question about model facing and line of site. I don't think facing matters, but wanted to check. 
Especially for the following rule: 
Loyal: Shoot as QL3+ when you can see your leader
Can the leader be behind the shooting unit?
R : yeah there's no facing, so models can see 360 degrees

Boardgamegeek
Q : Played for the first time this evening and came across a few ambiguities. We came up with some  
on-the-spot answers, but I'm curious about other opinions.
Q1. Can Downed Horrors and Minions do a recovery action?
Q2. Do Unbound figures roll if they do multiple move actions?
Q3. If a figure is Thrown (Shock result 5) in such a way that they would go off the table, what 
happens to them?
R : I asked the author himself:
A1. Yep, in fact it's the only action they can do when down (unless noted otherwise).
A2. Yeah they move just like normal.
A3. They stop at the edge (unless you want the edge to be a cliff or whatever).
 
Boardgamegeek
Q : Do you make a QL roll when your character gets a 'free' Action such as Recovery, Move, etc.?
R : According to the How-To-Play vid of the designer: Yes, you still have to roll for free actions.

Boardgamegeek
Q : Should I assume that a Horror will first attempt a RECOVER action before continuing with it's 
other actions if we are lucky enough to have downed it prior to its activation?
R : As I understand it, a Horror will have the exact same conditions as warbands.. It has to recover, 
roll for movement etc. as well. If a Horror is downed and for example has a free move action 
because of a Nexus, it won't be able to perform the free action because it is down.

Boardgamegeek
Q : That's another good point for clarification. Can the Horror, or any unit take advantage of free 
actions when they are downed?
In a recent game, the Horror was downed, 3 Nexus left, rolled 8, twice in a row for Fighbacks and 
killed my leader outright who ran into the Horror and attacked twice. Most comical but not sure it's  
meant to work that way.
R : Free actions rolled on the shock table is performed and then the unit goes down.. If a unit is 
already downed and somehow is granted a free action, the free action can only be a recovery 
attempt..

Documents: 

QRS : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Mz2_QfIY9hi6w77r3n6U9R016-M_MNty/view
Discord : https://discord.io/intotheodd (#wargames channel)
FB group : https://www.facebook.com/groups/thedoomedplayers 
Boardgamegeek : https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/344708/the-doomed 
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